You are here


EASD awards 6 prestigious major prizes each year at the Annual Meeting to recognise excellence in science. Do not miss the opportunity to give a valued colleague the recognition they deserve for contributions to diabetes research.

General Rules and Regulations

Candidates must be paid-up members of EASD.

Nominators must be paid-up members of EASD.

Details on how to become a member can be found here or contact for further information.

Candidates can only be nominated for one prize per year.

In case of being nominated for two prizes in the same year, the EASD office will contact the nominee to decide for which prize he/she wants to be nominated for.

Nominations must be made on the available nomination form and sent to

Board Members of EASD are not eligible for nomination.

Selection Procedure

Each EASD Prize has its own independent Prize Committee that judges the candidates and decides on a prize awardee according to the individual prize criteria outlined in the respective announcement.

For any questions, please contact Sarah Schotten ( at the EASD office.

Claude Bernard Prize and Lecture

This medal and lectureship is the EASD's highest award in recognition of an individual's innovative leadership and lifetime achievements in diabetes research.

This Prize is generously supported by Sanofi


EASD-NNF Diabetes Prize for Excellence

Prize for outstanding research or technology contributions to the understanding of diabetes, its disease mechanisms or its complications.

This Prize is generously supported by the Novo Nordisk Foundation


Minkowski Prize

Prize awarded for research contributing to the advancement of knowledge concerning diabetes mellitus.

This Prize is generously supported by Lilly


EASD-Lilly Centennial Anniversary Prize

Extended nomination deadline until 15 May 2024, 12:00 noon CEST

Prize awarded to researchers who have contributed through innovative approaches to the development and evolution of treatment and management of diabetes.

This Prize is generously supported by Lilly


Camillo Golgi Prize

Prize for outstanding contributions in the field of the histopathology, pathogenesis, prevention and treatment of the complications of diabetes mellitus.

This Prize is generously supported by Novo Nordisk


Albert Renold Prize

Prize to recognises outstanding achievements in the field of pathophysiology and treatment of diabetes mellitus.

This Prize is generously supported by Lilly